Mind Blurbs

Musical Poetry

I think poetry is a part of our everyday lives via music. Some song artists truly write poems and turn them into works of music, something that can make revenue easier for them. Now, some artists write lyrics that hold much more power and meaning and them as opposed to other artists. A particular artist I absolutely adore and I believe writes incredible poetry is Tyler Joseph of Twenty One Pilots. Before his focus was on main stream music and money, TJ wrote some truly amazing songs that honestly changed my life. Examples are not hard to find, but I’ll share some of my favorites with you. The song Kitchen Sink really embodies what the band is all about with one simple lyric.Are you searching for purpose?

Then write something, yeah it might be worthless

Then paint something, yeah it might be wordless

Pointless curses

Nonsense verses

You’ll see purpose start to surface

No one else is dealing with your demons, meaning maybe defeating them could be the beginning of your meaning, friend
This simple lyric is what has me hellbent on getting a tattoo honestly. I think it’s beautiful. Another section of lyrics that I consider poetry is pretty menacing, yet still beautiful.
I wake up fine and dandy but then by the time I find it handy

To rip my heart apart and start

Planning my crash landing

I go up, up, up, up, up to the ceiling

Then I feel my soul start leaving

Like an old man’s hair receding

I’m pleading, please, oh please

On my knees repeatedly asking

Why it’s got to be like this

Is this living free?

I don’t wanna be the one be the one to have the sun’s blood on my hands

I’ll tell the moon

Take this weapon, forged in darkness

Some see a pen, I see harpoon
You can take this poem in so many ways, I could write a whole essay on it, but I’m just gonna leave it there 🙂
Each and every song if full of symbols and metaphors to the point where I lose track after a few in each song. I don’t think many song writers or poets will ever match the creative ability of Tyler Joseph in the ways he writes about his darkness.
To conclude. I believe poetry is alive and thriving. It’s not just Tyler Joseph that makes the art form live, but so many other artists across many different genres. Some of my other favorites include Watsky and Tupac Shakur, but there are many others. Some of this poetry may not be very intellectual, but some is, and those songs who hold that intellectual value are the ones worth celebrating their existence.

Leave a Reply

